The New Roscommon Writer Award

The New Roscommon Writer Award

20180619_201447Helen Grehan, winner of the 2018 Award with writers / authors Gerry Boland and John Mulligan. In his address, the Awards judge John Mulligan thanked Roscommon Co Council, the awards supporters Roscommon Herald and Shannonside Radio as well as the many who entered prose writings this year. “The standard was so high”, John said “There was only the ‘breath of a sheet of paper’ between many of the submissions”


20180619_185459John Mulligan author and awards judge, Cllr Orla Leydon Cathaoirleach Roscommon Co Council, Gerry Boland author and M.C. for the Awards ceremony

The NEW ROSCOMMON WRITING AWARD is organised as part of the county’s literature development programme. It is funded by Roscommon County Council and The Arts Council, and supported by the Roscommon Herald and by Shannonside FM. The winner (Helen Grehan) receives a monetary prize of €500 and will have the winning entry printed in the Roscommon Herald. It will also be broadcast on Shannonside FM. (Four runners-up receive €50 each)

Highly commended:
Neil Tully – “Shapeless”
Louise Cole – “Mondays Unexpected Locomotion”
Liam Tanaiste – “The Mob That Howls”
Anne Wynn – “The Brown leather Case”
Helen B Grehan – “Richard’s Return” (overall winner)
Pat Cregg – “Civil War”
Pat Cregg – “Sharkey”
Anthony Baggott – “The Herald Notes”
Anthony Jones – “One Good Turn”
Rory Nevin – “The Controller”