Rainfall warning issued for 11 counties

Met Éireann has issued a rainfall warning for 11 counties across the northern half of the country from tomorrow evening.

The Status Yellow warning covers the five counties in Connacht, as well as Longford, Louth, Westmeath, Meath, Cavan and Monaghan.

It comes into effect from 9pm on Monday until 9pm on Tuesday.

Met Éireann said: “Heavy rainfall will lead to accumulations of 30-50mm, with higher accumulations in mountainous areas.

“This will bring a risk of some river and localised flooding.”