The shortlist for the 2019 NEW ROSCOMMON WRITING AWARD has just been announced.

Adjudicator Kevin Hora has selected the following writers from the 67 entries:

Louise G. Cole – Eileen Keane – Brian McClean (twice) – PJ Moore (twice) – John Mulligan (twice) – Shane Tivenan – Neil Tully.  The adjudicator had no prior knowledge of the names of the entrants, as all entries were numbered, with care taken to ensure the entries remained anonymous to the adjudicator.

At the awards ceremony, which will take place at 6pm in King House, Boyle on Tuesday 18th June, the winning entry together with the 4 runners-up will be announced.

The winner will receive a cheque for €500 from Roscommon County Council and will be officially named the NEW ROSCOMMON WRITER OF 2018. The winning entry will be published in the Roscommon Herald and an extract of the story will be broadcast on the Charlie McGettigan Saturday Connection Show on Shannonside FM. The 4 runners-up will receive a cheque for €100. This award is supported by the Arts Council.

Judge, Kevin Hora commented:  ‘Selecting just ten stories from so many enjoyable entries was difficult  These ten stories are a diverse mix of styles and themes, all skilfully crafted, provocative and tantalising. Each one shines because it tells a story in a unique voice.  Each reading offers fresh insights into one or more universal concerns – our relationships, hopes, fears and emotions.’

The awards ceremony is an open event and all are welcome to attend. For more information, please contact Mary Mullins, Arts Officer