Ministers travelling for St Patrick’s Day

The Department of Foreign Affairs has announced travel details for 29 government ministers for this year’s St Patrick’s Day trips – and the Taoiseach’s visit to the White House was top of the agenda. 
• As part of a long-standing tradition which is regularly criticised as the endorsement of costly and unnecessary junkets, Ireland’s cabinet members will travel around the globe on a series of trade missions to promote this country.
• All but three ministers will travel abroad. Health Minister Simon Harris, Transport Minister Shane Ross and Communications Minister Denis Naughten will remain in the country during the St Patrick’s Day visits.